In publica commoda

High standards and an attractive environment for research and teaching

The University of Göttingen has a strong research basis, maintaining high standards in research and teaching and a top-level international reputation. In order to safeguard this status and to build on it for the long term, the University, together with its partners on the Göttingen Campus, places particular emphasis on innovation and enhancement of profile, fostering early career researchers and expanding research and information infrastructure.

Göttingen's vibrant research and teaching environment attracts excellent scientists and scholars from within Germany and abroad. Significant factors are the interdisciplinary research conducted on innovative research topics and the optimal support provided for up-and-coming early career researchers, making it possible for the University to retain excellent early career researchers and scholars who have trained here, or to send them out into the world as ambassadors. Göttingen University ensures that its researchers and lecturers have the time and space required for creative work by gearing its administration, advisory support and services specifically to the needs of academics, and providing family-friendly working and living conditions. In addition, the Göttingen Campus makes available the necessary research and information infrastructure to facilitate outstanding performance in science and scholarship over the long-term.

Göttingen University and its partners on the Göttingen Campus pursue the research-based teaching approach. The University seeks to provide its students with wide-ranging methodological knowledge, develop their capacity for analytical thought, and grant them space for creativity. It also supports student mobility, and is pressing ahead with the internationalisation of all curricula.

Strategic development since 2007


The University's strategy has been continuously developed in close collaboration with the campus partners from 2007 onwards. The most important measures are the Lichtenberg-Kolleg as an Institute for Advanced Study for research in the humanities, an institutional internationalization strategy, and instruments to attract and keep the best scientists and scholars. One particular achievement of these measures has been the successful recruitment of early career researchers, by offering them independent positions in research and teaching, either as free floaters or as junior research group leaders in one of the Courant Research Centres. Many of these researchers have in the meantime been appointed to tenured professorships. Similarly, projects funded in the last round of the Excellence Initiative, the Göttingen Graduate School for Neurosciences, Biophysics, and Molecular Biosciences (GGNB) and the Cluster of Excellence 'Nanoscale Microscopy and Molecular Physiology of the Brain' (CNMPB), have contributed positively to the strategic development. These successful measures and research foci will find continuation in the ongoing strategic planning.

In 2011, two major strategic measures were added; first, Göttingen University developed a strategy to make yet better use of the numerous academic collections for research and teaching and as an opportunity for knowledge transfer into the public domain. The collections are overseen by the newly formed Centre for Collection Development, which closely interacts with Göttingen State and University Library (SUB). Second, a vision for e(nhanced)Research was conceptualized and open access strategies were outlined resulting in the Göttingen eResearch Alliance. The Göttingen eResearch Alliance and the affiliated institutions support all aspects of digitization, data management and publications on the Göttingen Campus

In January 2019, the funding started for the Cluster of Excellence “Multiscale Bioimaging: from Molecular Machines to Networks of Excitable Cells” in the Excellence Strategy by the German Federal and State Governments. The Cluster has the goal to understand the structural and functional properties of excitable cardiac and neural cells at many different scales. To decipher disease-relevant nanoscale functional units in these cells innovative imaging methods will be developed and applied. The biomedical insights gained from the multiscale analysis shall then be used to devise novel diagnostic and therapeutic approaches for diseases of the heart and brain. Spokespersons are Professor Tobias Moser, neuroscientist at the University Medical Centre Göttingen, Professor Claudia Steinem, chemist at Göttingen University and Professor Patrick Cramer, molecular biologist at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry.

An integrated campus-wide graduate school concept ensures high-level graduate education. A further focus area is the promotion of early career researchers, especially the postdoctoral fellows. The University is a founder member of the Innovation Campus of Southern-Lower-Saxony (SNIC) for knowledge and technology transfer into the region, and plans to open the 'Forum Wissen' for knowledge and innovation transfer into society in late 2019. Furthermore, the University directorate and management are promoting interface areas such as quality assurance, equal opportunity and diversity management, internationalization in research and teaching, science communication, and public outreach.

In publica commoda

Hohe Standards und attraktives Umfeld für Forschung und Lehre

Die Universität Göttingen ist eine forschungsstarke Universität mit hohen Standards in Forschung und Lehre und hoher internationaler Reputation. Um diesen Status zu sichern und langfristig auszubauen, setzt sie gemeinsam mit ihren Partnern am Göttingen Campus auf Innovation und Profilschärfung, Nachwuchsförderung, Chancengleichheit und Diversität sowie den Ausbau der Forschungs- und Informationsinfrastruktur.

Mit einem attraktiven Umfeld für Forschung und Lehre werden hervorragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem In- und Ausland für den Standort Göttingen gewonnen. Dazu gehört die interdisziplinäre Forschung zu innovativen Themenfeldern ebenso wie die optimale Förderung des eigenen Nachwuchses, um exzellente junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zu halten oder diese als Botschafter für unsere Universität in die Welt zu senden. Mit einer wissenschaftsorientierten Verwaltung, Beratung und Service sowie vereinbarkeitsorientierte Studien- und Arbeitsbedingungen schafft die Universität für ihre Forschenden und Lehrenden den nötigen Freiraum für kreatives Arbeiten. Außerdem stellt sie am Göttingen Campus die notwendige Forschungs- und Informationsinfrastruktur bereit, um langfristig wissenschaftliche Spitzenleistungen zu ermöglichen.

Die Universität Göttingen verfolgt mit ihren Partnern am Göttingen Campus den Ansatz forschungsorientierter Lehre. Sie hat den Anspruch, den Studierenden ein breites Methodenwissen zu vermitteln und ihr analytisches Denkvermögen zu fördern sowie ihnen Freiraum für Kreativität zu geben. Außerdem fördert sie die Mobilität von Studierenden und forciert die Internationalisierung aller Curricula.

Strategische Entwicklung seit 2007


Die universitäre Strategie wird seit 2007 in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern am Göttingen Campus kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Die wichtigsten Maßnahmen sind das Lichtenberg-Kolleg als "Institute for Advanced Studies" für geisteswissenschaftliche Forschung, eine institutionalisierte Internationalisierungsstrategie und Maßnahmen, um kluge Köpfe zu gewinnen und zu halten. Die Universität hat sehr erfolgreich Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler nach Göttingen holen können, indem sie ihnen Positionen für eigenständige Forschung und Lehre angeboten hat – sei es als Free Floater oder als Nachwuchsgruppenleiterin oder -leiter in einem der Courant Forschungszentren. Viele dieser Forschenden wurden inzwischen auf dauerhafte Professuren berufen. Auch die in der Exzellenzinitiative geförderte Göttinger Graduiertenschule für Neurowissenschaften, Biophysik und Molekulare Biowissenschaften (GGNB) und der Exzellenzcluster "Mikroskopie im Nanometerbereich und Molekularphysiologie des Gehirns (CNMPB)" haben positiv zur strategischen Entwicklung beigetragen. Diese erfolgreichen Maßnahmen und Forschungsfelder fließen in die weiteren Planungen mit ein.

Im Jahr 2011 kamen zwei strategische Maßnahmen hinzu: Erstens entwickelte die Universität Göttingen eine Strategie, ihre zahlreichen akademischen Sammlungen noch besser in Forschung und Lehre und für den Wissenstransfer in die Öffentlichkeit zu nutzen. Die als Dach neu geschaffene Zentrale Kustodie arbeitet eng mit der Niedersächsischen Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen zusammen. Zweitens wurde ein Konzept für e(nhanced)Research und eine Open Access-Strategie entwickelt, die in der Gründung der Göttingen eResearch Alliance (eRA) mündeten. Die eRA und die beteiligten Institutionen unterstützen bei allen Aspekten des Datenmanagements und des Veröffentlichens am Göttingen Campus.

Seit Januar 2019 wird der Exzellenzcluster „Multiscale Bioimaging: von molekularen Maschinen zu Netzwerken erregbarer Zellen“ im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder gefördert. Der Cluster hat das Ziel, die strukturellen und die sich daraus ergebenden funktionellen Eigenschaften erregbarer Zellen in Herz und Hirn über mehrere Längenskalen hinweg zu verstehen. Um krankheitsrelevante nanoskalige Funktionseinheiten in Herz- und Nervenzellen zu entschlüsseln, sollen innovative bildgebende analytische Methoden entwickelt und angewandt werden. Mit den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen sollen neuartige diagnostische und therapeutische Ansätze für Erkrankungen von Herz und Hirn ermöglicht werden. Sprecher sind der Neurowissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Tobias Moser von der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, die Chemikerin Prof. Dr. Claudia Steinem von der Universität Göttingen und der Molekularbiologe Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer vom Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie.

Ein integratives campusweites Konzept für Graduiertenschulen sichert die Ausbildung von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden auf einheitlich hohem Niveau. Ein weiterer Fokus liegt auf der Förderung von Nachwuchsforschenden, insbesondere in der Postdoc-Phase. Die Universität Göttingen ist Gründungsmitglied des SüdniedersachsenInnovationsCampus (SNIC) für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer in der Region und plant, das Forum Wissen für den Wissens- und Innovationstransfer in die Gesellschaft zu eröffnen. Darüber hinaus fördert die Universitätsleitung und -administration Querschnittsaufgaben wie Qualitätssicherung, Gleichstellung und Diversitätsmanagement, Internationalisierung in Forschung und Lehre und Wissenschaftskommunikation.